Marathon countdown & goals

I haven’t posted a blog since my fundraiser recap, but felt like I should as I get closer to my first Full Marathon. The big day is 2 weeks from today. We’ll call it 13.5 days. Yikes! I’ve played basketball my whole life, and I was never this nervous for a basketball game. It’s a whole different thing, too.

For those of you who don’t know, I ran my second ever Half Marathon last Sunday in Hutchinson. I took 13th place overall (out of 428), and won my age group. My time was 1:31:32, and I was very pleased with the outcome. I was ready to RUN a Half Marathon, but this whole Full Marathon thing? Gotta be smarter about that, for sure.

Starting out with my weight loss (still -66 lbs since Aug 1, 2011), when I finally decided to train for a Marathon, I had a one track mind: FINISH. Just finish.

Now? I’m finding myself a little more driven. After raising $1,225 for my former High School’s sports programs, and months (and months) of training — I’m not “ready,” but I’m as close to ready as I’m going to get. I just won’t know for sure until I’m in it.

Time-wise, I really want to finish under 4 hours, and will be disappointed if I don’t. But who knows how things will go. Cue the “ifs”: If I can get decent weather, avoid getting hurt, avoid any other mishaps, then I really think something in the 3:40-3:45 range is reachable for me. Last year, 3:41:08 finished 100th place. So let’s set aside some goals to keep myself accountable. Here they are:

1. Finish.

2. Don’t walk.

3. Top 100

4. 3:40

That’s what I’m shooting for. Now you know. Lastly, I still have a few open spaces on my race wall, so if you’d like to send any encouraging notes/cards, etc, they are still more than welcome. I’ll probably post a picture of my race wall next Sunday. It’s almost full.

Thanks again for all of your support!

Here is today’s running picture:

Image

Cheers,

Derrick

Leave a Reply

