“Resolution Run” 4K

If you missed it on Facebook and Twitter last night, I’ve decided to host a “Resolution Run” 4K race on New Year’s Eve this year. Details…

Why: Running has done so much for me. In the past 15 months, I lost 67.5 lbs, I raised $1,225, and I completed my first marathon… It all comes back to setting, and achieving goals. I want to inspire others to do the same. Please come join me for a very small part of your day–socialize, exercise, and share your goals with others. I’m hoping for a big turnout, and lots of fun!

Where: My hometown of Pretty Prairie, KS — (meet at the High School)

Date: Mon, December 31

Time: 12:00 PM

Cost: FREE

Awards: PIE and HOT CHOCOLATE for everyone!

Who is invited: EVERYONE. Bring your friends, family, kids, parents, classmates, teammates, coworkers, significant others, or whoever! I don’t care if you’re 2 or 102. The more, the merrier. I’ve already had a couple of college friends from out of town say they’ll try to make it.

Help needed: Whether or not you are able/willing to run, if you’d like to help make (or buy) some of the pies, I’m sure assistance would be welcome in that regard. Also, I will probably need a couple people at the finish line with a stopwatch, and able to record results. Otherwise, just show up, and have a good time.

Why 4K: It’s a simple, rectangular route, not a long distance (2.48 miles)–and it will also enable me to add a new race distance, and a new race location to my list. 🙂

More: I understand not everyone loves to run. Many of you may not even like it. But this is a pretty short distance, and you are more than welcome to walk it with friends, and just visit and have fun.

If you have any questions, or suggestions, PLEASE feel free to contact me. Hope to see you all in Pretty Prairie as we close out 2012.

Cheers,

Derrick

Leave a Reply

