My letter to Kyle

To all: Today, I ran a virtual Half Marathon called Kyle’s Krusade, to benefit a 6-year old boy in California who has cancer. Admittedly, I first took notice when I found a race that was only $10, but given that I love kids, and work with kids, it would’ve been worth a lot more. Cool cause. Now, to the point of this post…

Image

Dear Kyle,

I just wanted to say hello to you and your family. My name is Derrick. I am 27 (almost 28), and I’m from a VERY small town in Kansas called Pretty Prairie–sounds funny, huh? I am a really big fan of the Chicago Cubs baseball team. My favorite singer is Eric Church, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is the best cartoon ever, if you ask me. I like pretty much every sport, I like trains a whole lot, and I also like to read… By the way, if you’ve never heard of The Boy Who Fooled the Giant, it’s awesome. I loved it when I was little, and it makes me laugh every time, even now.

Image

I’ve never been to California, but I’ve heard lots of cool things about it. Maybe someday I’ll get to go there. It seems like a million miles away from me. Anyway, just thought I’d say hello and tell you that I got your back. Stay strong, bud.

Sincerely,

Derrick in Kansas

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Kyle’s Krusade Race Recap

Leave a Reply

