Race report: Love Life Run 10K

Nov 9, 2013 — Hutchinson, KS

Love Life Run 10K

Place: 2/95; 1st in age group

Time: 42:58

This was a fun event. I was nowhere near ready to race a 10K. I’ve done zero speed work these past few months, and I also have a 12-hour Ultra in Wichita this coming Saturday. But I mostly wanted to just see how I could place, then hurry back to finish with my lovely girlfriend Kami, who was running her first 10K.

My first couple miles were right where I wanted them, and actually on PR pace, but I knew that wouldn’t hold. The leader was a long ways ahead of me by Mile 2, and the third place runner was a long ways behind me. I joked with one of the volunteers that it was getting lonely out there.

Here’s a snippet of my in-race thought process, in case you wondered what I think about sometimes:

“That guy is way up there. Where’d he go? He’s really fast. I think he was at the Press Run 5K. I got 2nd there. Won some money; that was cool. Who’s in 3rd place? I don’t see anyone. Am I going the right way? Surely. Stop turning around. You’ll trip and fall. Remember in Family Guy, when he falls and goes ‘tss-ahh,’ like 10 times? Hilarious. Stop. You’re not going to fall. Look out for that stick! It’s quiet out here. This is like Tortoise and the Hare. Hare took a nap, right? I’m not fast enough to be the Hare. I like turtles more. Wait… Mile 5 already? Dude, you have A.D.D. Focus.”

Anyway… I finished in 2nd place overall out of 95 finishers. Won my age group (there were only 4 of us) with my fifth worst 10K time (42:58) out of seven tries. Collected my medal, chatted with a couple friends for a minute, then took off backward on the course to find Kami.

Before the race, we’d discussed her trying to beat 1:10, or maybe something in the 1:08 range (I secretly thought 1:05ish). When I got to her, she was still moving really well, and still smiling. I took this as a good sign, and not just because I like her smile. After running and talking with her for a minute, I looked at my watch to realize she had a great shot at beating 1:00:00. I was pumped. Naturally, she finished strong with a time of 59:03. I never doubted her, but she definitely surprised me (and I think herself) a little bit. She completed her first 10K faster than either of us expected, got her first medal, and even got to hit the PR gong — with a swing that would have made Ernie Banks jealous. She also took 55th place, beating 40 people after joking she might get last. Super proud of that girl.

Overall, this was a super fun, well-organized event with interesting perks. Fun atmosphere all-around. There aren’t many races where I walk away saying “I’m definitely doing that one again,” but… I’m definitely doing that one again.

Leave a Reply

