Race report: Run for the Rocks half marathon

Run for the Rocks half marathon

September, 2015 — Hutchinson, KS

Half Marathon #9

Place: 133/278

Time: 2:12:52

Half marathon together with the wife on our first anniversary? Sure!

It was Kami’s first half marathon. We had no real expectations going in; just have fun. However, being the numbers Nazi that I am, I had suggested an optimistic goal of 2:30. She scoffed at the idea a bit, not wanting to feel any “pressure.” Understandable. But that 2:30-2:35 range was in the back of my mind the whole time, anyway.

A finish time of 2:30 would have meant an average pace of 11:26 per mile. I knew we’d maintain that for 8 miles or so, but wasn’t sure after that. Figured we’d do a decent amount of walking, which was fine by me. Nice weather, lovely wife next to me; I had nothing to complain about.

Started out with a 9:58 first mile. Perfect. I kind of figured if we could hover right around that 10-minute pace for a few miles, we’d be golden. Then a 9:47. Then a 9:41. Then a 9:39. We barely walked, other than briefly through aid stations. Wife was a machine on this day. That said, I was a little nervous we wouldn’t be able keep it up. Thrilled to say I was wrong.

Our overall splits on the day:

9:58, 9:47, 9:41, 9:39, 10:31, 10:17, 9:49, 10:20, 10:08, 10:43, 10:36, 10:42, 9:45

Not a single split slower than 10:43, with six miles faster than 10-per. Fantastic. She surprised herself, and I was immensely proud. But more importantly, she was proud of herself.

We crossed the finish line on the track at Gowan’s Stadium, together — holding hands. Official time: 2:12:52.

She/we managed to only walk aid stations and maybe one other time for less than 30 seconds or so. I am still in amazement of her determination. Little miss “I’m not a competitive person” demolished what she thought she was capable of. How cool is that?

We have already signed up for another half marathon; this one on Halloween in Haviland, KS — Run for Missions, it’s called. Should be a really fun day. Then again, it always is with her.

It was a pretty crazy first year of marriage. Lots of changes in our lives, with more to come. I expect Year Two to be just as crazy. And Year Three, and Year 60, and all the years in between. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I look forward to not only running more races with her, but more importantly, being next to her wherever life takes us, and however fast it takes us there.

My shirt, bib and medal from my fourth Run for the Rocks + my ninth half marathon.

My shirt, bib and medal from my fourth Run for the Rocks + my ninth half marathon.

Kami and me after her first half marathon on our first anniversary. Love that girl.

Kami and me after her first half marathon on our first anniversary. Love that girl.

Leave a Reply

