Race report: Love Life Run 10K

Love Life Run 10K

November 7, 2015 — Hutchinson, KS

10K #14

Place: 4/99

Time: 44:20

What a great event for my 100th race. My/our amazing friend Sonya Caley does a great job putting this race on. I’m not sure who made it exactly, but her son Declan gave me a sign congratulating me on my 100th race. How cool is that?!

I mean, 100 races may or may not be a big deal. Lots of 5K/1-mile combos in there helped it add up quickly. I suppose when you consider my first race wasn’t until a St. Patrick’s 5K in March of 2012, maybe it’s a big deal? I dunno. Anyway…

Although I haven’t been race ready for any distance in ages, I decided to at least try and see what I could do. I expected somewhere in the 46-minute range. By the way, my PR is 39:57. It would be great to beat that someday, but hey. It is what it is.

Started off fast, like always. Slowed a bit, but actually wound up with one of my more consistent races ever, thanks to a guy named Tim chasing me down for the last 3-4 miles or so. I was certain he’d get me; I just thought I’d make him work for it.

I managed to hold him off and edge him out by 5 seconds, taking 4th place overall. He later thanked me for taking 10 years off his life. I said “You’re welcome.” But seriously, he made me work hard. I hated it. And I loved it.

Post-race environment was a blast as always. Managed to see Kami finish with her new 10K PR — 55:30. She was amazing, as always.

Great day, all-in-all. Here’s to another 100…

Pre-race the wife; all smiles. Well, she is. I don't like smiling.

Pre-race the wife; all smiles. Well, she is. I don’t like smiling.

10k2

Podium, son.

10k3

My favorite race shirt yet. Great color, awesome fit (for once) and neat font.

10k4

Me and my race director friend, Sonya. And the sign her family made for me.

Leave a Reply

