Race report: Prairie Fire Marathon

Prairie Fire Marathon

October 11, 2015

Marathon #7

Place: DNF

Time: N/A

Only posting to remind myself of this debacle in the future.

First DNF in a marathon, only second ever DNF — Gravel Grind 50K, summer 2015. Hiccups that normally don’t hit until mile 12-14 kicked in at mile 3. I struggled badly to just breathe and move forward after mile 5. Made it to the mile 9 aid station before calling it quits. Would have had to walk the rest, and it just wasn’t worth it.

This was highly disappointing, but with my new(ish) job as a newspaper editor, I’ve been working 60-70 hours per week and have struggled to find/make time to train consistently, if at all.

I pretty much knew going in this was going to be a disaster. Honestly should have switched to the half.

Hoping to get a grip on this hiccup thing, though I realize it’ll probably never go away completely. But some ideas have been kicked around by myself, some people I trust, and a runner doctor I met here in town.

In the meantime, my marathon struggles continue.

Onward…

PFM expo, 10/10/15.

PFM expo, 10/10/15.

Leave a Reply

